

Internal

Youth Commission

Youth Commission Meeting

Monday, May 9, 2022 at 6:30pm Zoom Webinar

PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH ZOOM VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

To access the meeting remotely: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone,

or Android device, please use this URL to join the meeting: <u>https://us06web.zoom.us/j/85925075321?</u>

Passcode: 621930

If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop-down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon by rolling over the bottom of the screen.

To join by phone: Dial: +16699006833, or

+13462487799

If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, Press *9 and

Draft Minutes

The Commission may discuss any items listed on the agenda but may take action only on items identified as Action.

- 1. Call to Order (Chair) 6:36pm
- 2. Roll Call (Secretary) Present: Weisberg, Kaplan-Pettus, Chokkalingam, Schlosberg, Powell, Thompson and Jay. Absent: Sanders
- 3. Approval of Agenda (Chair) M/S/Weisberg/Thomspon. Aye's: Weisberg, Kaplan-Pettus, Chokkalingam, Schlosberg, Powell, Thompson and Jay. Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Sanders
- 4. Approval of Minutes for April 11, 2022 (Chair) M/S/Weisberg/Kaplan-Pettus. Aye's: Weisberg, Kaplan-Pettus, Chokkalingam, Schlosberg, Powell, Thompson and Jay. Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Sanders
- 5. Public Comments
- 6. Chair's Announcements
- 7. Director's Report
- 8. Land Acknowledgment (Schlosberg)
- 2022 Re-election for Thompson Chair and Powell Vice-Chair. M/S/Kaplan-Pettus/Jay. Aye's: Weisberg, Kaplan-Pettus, Chokkalingam, Schlosberg, Powell, Thompson and Jay. Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Sanders
- 10. Introductions
- 11. Action: Finalize and approve workplan. M/S/Thomspon/Chokkalingam. Aye's: Weisberg, Kaplan-Pettus, Chokkalingam, Schlosberg, Powell, Thompson and Jay. Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Sanders
- Action: Form mental health subcommittee M/S/Thomspon/Kaplan-Pettus. Aye's: Weisberg, Kaplan-Pettus, Chokkalingam, Schlosberg, Powell, Thompson and Jay. Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Sanders
- Action: (Replace with Sam's action item) M/S/Thomspon/Kaplan-Pettus. Aye's: Weisberg, Kaplan-Pettus, Chokkalingam, Schlosberg, Powell, Thompson and Jay. Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Sanders
- 14. Adjourn 7:53pm M/S/Thomspon/Kaplan-Pettus. Aye's: Weisberg, Kaplan-Pettus, Chokkalingam, Schlosberg, Powell, Thompson and Jay. Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Sanders

Commission Information: The Youth Commission packet is available for review at both the Berkeley Main Library and the Parks Recreation & Waterfront Department Office at 2180 Milvia Street –3rd Floor, during normal business hours. If you have questions, contact Commission Secretary, Ginsi K. Bryant, at 981-6678 or by email at <u>gbryant@cityofberkeley.info</u>

ADA Disclaimer: This meeting is being held in a wheelchair accessible location. To request disabilityrelated accommodations to participate in the meeting, including auxiliary aids or services, please contact the Disability Services Specialist at 981-6342 (V) or 981-6345 (TDD) at least three business days before the meeting date. Please refrain from wearing scented products to this meeting.

SB343 Disclaimer: Any writings or documents provided to a majority of the Commission regarding any item on this agenda will be made available for public inspection at Parks Recreation & Waterfront Department Office at 2180 Milvia Street, 3rd Floor, Berkeley CA.

Communications Disclaimer: Communications to Berkeley boards, commissions or committees are public record and will become part of the City's electronic records, which are accessible through the City's website. Please note: e-mail addresses, names, addresses, and other contact information are not required, but if included in any communication to a City board, commission or committee, will become part of the public record. All communications to the Commission should be received at least 10 days before the meeting date. If you do not want your e-mail address or any other contact information to be made public, you may deliver communications via U.S. Postal Service or in person to the secretary of the relevant board, commission or committee. If you do not want your contact information included in the public record, please do not include that information in your communication. Please contact the secretary to the commission or committee for further information.

District	Name	District	Name
Mayor	Hannah Slattery Weisberg	BUSD/Brown	Khalil Powell
Kesarwani	Vacant	BUSD/Vasudeo	Vacant
Taplin	Vacant	BUSD/Babbitt	Nicholas Sanders
Bartlett	Vacant	BUSD/Student Director	Max Schlosberg
Harrison	Vacant	BUSD/Sinai	Vacant
Hahn	Vacant	BUSD	Vacant
Wengraf	Samuel Kaplan-Pettus	BUSD/Alper	Vacant
Robinson	Anjani Chokkalingam	BUSD	Nina Thompson
Droste	Vacant	BUSD/Cutler	Annabel Jay

Commission Members

Mission Statement

The Berkeley Youth Commission identifies the needs of youth, reviews and recommends youth services and programs.