

HOUSING ADVISORY COMMISSION Thursday, September 1, 2022

Housing Advisory Commission

Time: 7:03 pm
Held via Video and
Teleconference

Secretary – Mike Uberti HAC@cityofberkeley.info

DRAFT MINUTES

1. Roll Call

<u>Present</u>: Nico Calavita, Sara Fain, Xavier Johnson, Libby Lee-Egan, Mari Mendonca, Debbie Potter, Alexandria Rodriguez, Ainsley Sanidad, and Leah Simon-Weisberg. Absent: None.

Commissioners in attendance: 9 of 9

Staff Present: Anna Cash, David Lopez, Jenny McNulty, Alex Roshal, and Mike Uberti.

Members of the public in attendance: 8

Public Speakers: 7

2. Agenda Approval

Action: M/S/C (Potter/Fain) to approve the agenda.

Vote: Ayes: Calavita, Fain, Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Potter, Rodriguez, Sanidad,

and Simon-Weisberg. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

3. Public Comment

There were zero speakers during public comment.

4. Approval of the July 7, 2022 Special Meeting Minutes

Action: M/S/C (Rodriguez/Potter) to accept the July 7, 2022 Special Meeting Minutes. <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Fain, Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Potter, Rodriguez, Sanidad, and Simon-Weisberg. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Calavita (unexcused).

5. Discussion and Possible Action to Recommend Amendments to the City of Berkeley Housing Code

Public Comment: 2 speakers

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Potter/Mendonca) to establish a Housing Code subcommittee with the purpose to determine if a habitability plan can be included in the reenactment of the Berkeley Housing Code with a duration be 45 days and Commissioners Johnson, Simon-Wesiberg, and Potter appointed.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Calavita, Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Potter, Rodriguez, Sanidad, and Simon-Weisberg. Noes: Fain. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

Housing Advisory Commission	Special	Meeting	Minutes
September 1, 2022	-	_	
Page 2 of 2			

6. Receive Update and Discussion and Possible Action on Harriet Tubman Terrace Investigation

Public Comment: 5 speakers

- 7. Update on Council Items (Future Dates Subject to Change)
- 8. Announcements/Information Items
- 9. Future Items
- 10. Adjourn

Action: M/S/C (Rodriguez/ Fain) to adjourn the meeting at 10:47 pm.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Fain, Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Potter, Sanidad, and Simon-Weisberg. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Calavita (unexcused).

Approved:		
	. Mike Uberti. Secretary	